History-Making Commencement Ceremony at Chatfield College

The Saturday, May 18th commencement ceremony held at Chatfield College’s Over-the-Rhine campus was a truly wonderful and historic event. The 48th commencement ceremony was the first to be held at the downtown campus in the more than 30 years Chatfield has had an urban presence.  Cheers from passing cars and pedestrians only added to the excitement and celebration of the thirty-six graduates from both the St. Martin and Over-the-Rhine campuses honored in the ceremony.

A great friend and supporter of Chatfield, Michael Pcolinski Ph.D., Vice President of Advanced
Materials & Systems Research at BASF in North America, gave the commencement address.

Receiving Associate Degrees were Henry Black Jr., Jonah Wade Blankenship, Nicholas Simon Blendea, Ryan Keith Boggs, Cole Steven Brown, Elizabeth Burnside, Grace Carol Crain, Kenyauta Shameka Davis, Tonya Renee DeVaughn, Moses Israel Dobbs, Brandon James Doughman, Hunter Anthony Ellis, Chazeray Lanise Ewing, Jacob Tyler Fields, Donnelka Feli Foster, Monica Kay Goodman, Adriene Andrea Harrell, Pamela Denise Hoskins, Anna Nicole Howard, Shawna Marie Hrzic, Rivers Belle Lewis, Rachel Jean Luti, Shialia Tiera McCoy, Cecilia Faye Murphy, Abigail Eileen Peace, Jessica Joyce Perez, Brianna Nichole Posey, Gracie Isabella Roades, Rickia T. Roberts, Courtney Tyan Sedgwick, Estacia Jarae Simpson, Arletthe Denise Smith, Diamond D. Smith, Shawnte Monike Williams , Megan Rebekah Wolf, and Sarah Rachelle Zugg.

Two graduates were awarded the Julia Chatfield Distinguished Student Award—Hunter Ellis from the St. Martin Campus and Elizabeth Burnside from the Over-the-Rhine campus. This award is designed to recognize a graduate at each campus based on nominations submitted by the faculty and staff. Besides a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher, the student must exhibit the determination of Julia Chatfield by turning obstacles into opportunities, is friendly, inclusive and supportive in dealing with others and displays leadership qualities. Both serve as leaders of the Student Service Clubs on their respective campuses and were instrumental in raising funds for this year’s class gifts.

Lonnie Griffith was presented with Chatfield’s Dean Agatha Fitzgerald, OSU Excellence in Teaching Award. This award is given each year to an instructor who exemplifies the academic spirit and values of Chatfield College. Previous to teaching at the collegiate level, he taught social studies classes for grades fifth through eighth in the Cincinnati area for 12 years. For the past eight years, Lonnie has taught a wide range of college courses, primarily at Chatfield College. in 2017, Lonnie became the Humanities Department Chair for Chatfield, teaching at both the St. Martin and Over-the-Rhine campuses.

A complete video of the ceremony can be found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ULToliM9Wa4&feature=youtu.be


Upcoming Events

Giving Tuesday

Lessons & Carols

Miriam Society Gathering (by invitation only)

Chatfield College Adds Emergency Childcare Center at Cincinnati Campus

Chatfield College will begin offering all students attending its Cincinnati campus, located in Over-the-Rhine/West End, access to emergency childcare starting with the Spring 2022 term, which begins on January 18….

Read More »

Chatfield College Hosts Successful Fall Festival

Chatfield College hosted their annual Fall Festival featuring the Quilt, Craft, and Car Show and the Alumni Homecoming on Saturday, October 23, 2021. The Quilt, Craft, and Car Show have…

Read More »

Summer 2021 Dean’s List + Graduates

Chatfield College has named 21 students to its 2021 summer Dean’s List and has conferred the Associate of Arts in Liberal Arts to six students this summer.To make the Dean’s…

Read More »