Runners Brave the Heat for Chatfield College’s Hustle for Hope 5K

DSC_1319More than 100 runners and walkers ventured to Chatfield College in St. Martin to participate in the college’s annual 5K Run/Walk on July 23rd. The proceeds from this race go to the student scholarship fund.

“This race just gets bigger and bigger every year! We were excited to see a lot of new faces, as well as some familiar ones,” said Race Coordinator Brianna Houchens.

After enjoying a pre-race yoga session by Katy Gibson, the runners and walkers were ready to take on the new, scenic course around campus, even though the temperature pushed towards 90 degrees. The towering trees that have shaded the St. Martin campus for more than 100 years offered some relief to the participants along the way. Upon finishing, participants were able to enjoy music and refreshments, as well as a mini health fair being hosted on campus.

Trophies were awarded to the overall first place female and male runner. Nathan Hauke, a resident of Hamersville, took first place in the race.DSC_1629

“I like the flat and scenic course around campus, which was made challenging due to the extreme heat and humid conditions. But the race was very well organized with mile makers and the health expo afterward was a nice touch, “said Hauke.

Briana Tudor, a collegiate runner at Shawnee State and a 2010 Western Brown graduate, easily captured 1st place for the women.

“The Hustle for Hope 5K was the best two-footed tour of Chatfield’s beautiful campus,” said Tudor. “It was nice seeing participants from local communities come out to support a great cause. The volunteers were very encouraging and I had a great time from start to finish. I would like to thank Chatfield College for hosting the race, as I am already looking forward to running it again next year!”
DSC_1631More walkers than in previous years joined the race this year. New to Chatfield’s race, Gary Exaver took first place by more than six minutes, while Heather Cummings finished first for the ladies division.

Medals were also awarded to the top three finishers in each age group. The awards are as follows:

Female 1-13: Loralei Young 1st, Katelynn Boerger 2nd, Alison Whitley, 3rd
Male 1-13: Landen Mount 1st
Female 14-19: Savannah Rhodes 1st, Emma Cummings 2nd, Juanita Frost 3rd
Male 14-19: Wyatt Evans 1st, Tanner Creager 2nd, Cy Young 3rd
Female 20-29: Amanda Abbott 1st, Erica Leppert 2nd, Miranda Sutter 3rd
Male 20-29: Greg Roades 1st
Female 30-39: Jessica Beachy 1st, Samantha Charek 2nd, Christie Jones 3rd
Male 30-39: Brad Fitzpatrick 1st, Christopher Leppert 2ndDSC_1417
Female 40-49: Kelly Boerger 1st, Terri Winkle 2nd, Lee Rose 3rd
Male 40-49: Karl Boerger 1st , Justin Goodman 2nd, Steve Penrose 3rd
Female 50-59: Tamara Irvin 1st
Male 50-59: Roger Thornbury 1st, Rob Whitman 2nd, Russell Layne 3rd
Male 60-69: Ralph Jennings 1st, Bob Clancy 2nd

Sponsors who made the race possible included the Alumnae Association of the School of Brown County Ursulines, HealthQuest of Blanchester, Coca Cola, and Den’s Body Shop in Fayetteville.

To see more photos from the event, click here.

To see the overall results from the race, click here.

Upcoming Events

Fall Frolic at St. Martin

New Co-Directors Named to Hope Emergency Program

Mrs. Mariah Kroger has been hired by Hope Emergency Program as their new Co-Director.  She will fill the vacancy left by the untimely passing of Dianne Vollman last September.   Mariah…

Read More »

Chatfield Mourns the Loss of “Hap” Castleberry

Chatfield College mourns the loss of long-time supporter, Edward “Hap” Castleberry. Beloved husband of deceased Susan Jane (nee Siddall) Castleberry. Son of dearly beloved John and Constance (nee Alf) Castleberry…

Read More »

Chatfield College Receives Phi Theta Kappa National Recognition

Chatfield College’s Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society’s Beta Omicron Eta chapter has been named a 2022 REACH Rewards chapter from the national Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. The REACH program…

Read More »